MENU
EAST SIDE GALLERY
DE | EN

BERLIN WALL FOUNDATION

EAST SIDE GALLERY

OVERVIEW

The longest preserved piece of the Berlin Wall, standing between Ostbahnhof and Oberbaumbrücke, is known worldwide as the East Side Gallery. After the Wall fell, 118 artists from 21 countries redesigned 1.3 kilometers of the former border into the longest open-air gallery in the world. The East Side Gallery stands both as a symbol of joy over the end of Germany’s division and as a historical reminder of the inhumanity of the GDR border regime. Today it is one of Berlin's most popular tourist attractions.

Open 24 hours a day all year round
Free admission

Dmitri Vrubel, Lord Help Me To Survive This Deadly Love
Dmitri Vrubel, Lord Help Me To Survive This Deadly Love

East Side Gallery

Mühlenstraße 47 - 80
10243 Berlin

S- and U-Bahnhof Warschauer Straße

S3 S5 S7 S9 U1 U3
TramM10, M13
BUS 248, 347

East Side Gallery or Tamara-Danz-Straße

BUS 248

Download

THE HISTORICAL SITE

The border fortifications at this site had special significance. When the Wall was built on August 13, 1961, the River Spree between Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg became part of the border strip. The entire width of the river here belonged to East Berlin. West Berlin territory began at the riverbank on the Kreuzberg side. Thus, the East Side Gallery exists today on a section of former "Hinterlandmauer", the inner wall that had faced East Berlin.

In addition to this topographical distinction, the border grounds here exhibited another unique feature: With Mühlenstrasse serving as a "protocol route" for high-ranking visitors to the GDR, the inner wall here was visible to all. It resembled the "Border Wall 75" that usually faced West Berlin. The 3.5-meter-high wall elements were supposed to obstruct the view of the death strip.

The historical relics on Mühlenstrasse give an impression of how increased security measures and ongoing expansion of the Berlin Wall made the border increasingly invincible. Building structures on the river embankment were gradually removed in the 1970s to provide GDR border soldiers with an unobstructed “view and clear line of fire.” The entire area was razed in 1977, leaving only the Mühlenspeicher, a warehouse from the large harbor grounds. The intact urban structure here was completely destroyed by the GDR border fortifications. A section of the inner wall made of the characteristic cinder blocks from 1961 still exists here and is one of the few preserved examples of the first generation of the Wall.

Mühlenstraße 1987
Mühlenstrasse, 1987. Gerhard Danigel, CC BY-SA 4.0
Border troops patrol boat on the Spree, 1980
Border troops patrol boat on the Spree, 1980
Mühlenspeicher and border troops patrol boat on the Spree, 1980
Mühlenspeicher and border troops patrol boat on the Spree, 1980
Border fortifications on Mühlenstrasse, southeastern view, 1988
Border fortifications on Mühlenstrasse, southeastern view, 1988

The Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall Memorial website provides more information on the history of the Berlin Wall and how the GDR border regime functioned.

At least 16 people died in the border area around Mühlenstrasse while trying to flee across the Spree to West Berlin. Some were shot and killed by GDR border soldiers; others drowned as a result of hyperthermia or exhaustion. A 25 year old and a 27 year old who were not trying to flee also died here.

Dramatic incidents also occurred on the West Berlin side of the river when children who were playing in Kreuzberg accidently fell into the river. They lost their balance or slipped and could not get out of the water. West Berlin emergency workers were not allowed to enter the Spree here and GDR border guards did not intervene. By 1975, five children had died at the Gröbenufer riverbank in Kreuzberg (now called May-Ayim-Ufer). To prevent further accidents, the Berlin Senate had access ways to the river embankment welded and a fence erected along the quay wall. In spring 1976, water emergency alarms were set up on the West Berlin side of the river.

Monument with memorial cross for Udo Düllick
Monument with memorial cross for Udo Düllick on the West Berlin Gröbenufer, today’s May-Ayim-Ufer, 1980
Water emergency signal on the West Berlin bank of the Spree, 1980
Water emergency signal on the West Berlin bank of the Spree, 1980

Biographical portraits

The Berlin Wall Memorial website presents biographical portraits of the people who died at the Berlin Wall between 1961 and 1989.

GALLERY

Following the Peaceful Revolution and the fall of the Berlin Wall on November 9, 1989, the monstrous concrete barrier was torn down. It was to disappear from the cityscape as quickly as possible. The “wall peckers” did their part by chiseling away at the Wall with their hammers and picks and removing pieces as a triumphant souvenir of the end the division. But a 1.3 kilometer section of the Berlin Wall on Mühlenstrasse was left standing. At the same time, more than a hundred artists from all over the world engaged in a project that ensured that the Wall remained part of the Berlin cityscape.

In December 1989 artists from West Berlin and the GDR suggested that international artists paint the Wall on Mühlenstrasse as the first all-German art project. His idea was adopted and the “East Side Gallery,” officially commissioned by the GDR Council of Ministers, opened on September 28, 1990. The artists created murals with individual messages and statements, demonstrating that in the end, freedom and creativity are stronger than sanctions and force. The more than 100 paintings are an expression of the happiness felt over the fall of the Wall and the end of division.

The East Side Gallery artists were able to prevent their works from demolition, further decay and destruction. The city of Berlin added the East Side Gallery to its monument register in November 1991. It was the most visible outcome of the opening of the Wall, but now, with almost the entire Berlin Wall gone, it is one of the few remaining relics of the border fortifications at its original location, serving as a reminder that the city was divided for 28 years. In 1996 several of the artists became involved in the East Side Gallery Artist Initiative, an association that supports conservation of the artwork and was initiated by Kani Alavi.

Birgit Kinder, Test the Rest
Birgit Kinder, Test the Rest
Ignasi Blanch I Gisbert, Parlo D’Amor
Ignasi Blanch I Gisbert, Parlo D’Amor
Laszlo Erkel, You Can See Infinity
Laszlo Erkel, You Can See Infinity
Andy Weiss, Spirit Trave
Andy Weiss, Spirit Trave
André Sécrit, You have learned, what freedom means
André Sécrit, You have learned, what freedom means
Jürgen Grosse, Birth Of Kachinas, copied
Jürgen Grosse, Birth Of Kachinas, copied
Gerhard Lahr, Berlyn
Gerhard Lahr, Berlyn
Dieter Wien, Morning
Dieter Wien, Morning
Sándor Györffy, Fireheads
Sándor Györffy, Fireheads
Rainer Jehle, Monument, Memorial
Rainer Jehle, Monument, Memorial

Since 1996, many of the artists have been involved in the artists' initiative East Side Gallery e.V. initiated by Kani Alavi, which is committed to the preservation and care of the paintings.

In response to damage caused by exposure to the elements as well as by massive amounts of graffiti and other minor and major acts of vandalism, the East Side Gallery was entirely refurbished in 2000 and again in 2009. More than 2 million euros were made available for the last restoration work, which was carried out by the “Gesellschaft der behutsamen Stadterneuerung mbH” (S.T.E.R.N.). The renovations included stonework repairs, which required sandblasting large portions of the murals. When the work was completed, the artists were invited to repaint their murals on the Berlin Wall. Most of the artists restored their original paintings, but a small group was critical of the renovation work and refused to redo their paintings. The murals on the Wall today are the replicas created in 2009.

Due to urban development measures taken at the site, this uninterrupted section of the border could not be entirely preserved. In the years after the Wall fell, urban planning concepts focused on the Spree area around the Oberbaum Bridge. Construction plans for the land along the river were often not in sync with efforts to preserve the landmarked East Side Gallery. To accommodate the construction work, openings were made in the Wall, leading to major protests and demonstrations, especially in 2013. Most recently, in March 2018 additional sections of the painted wall were dismantled and moved to a nearby site.

Construction on the East Side Gallery, 2018
Construction on the East Side Gallery, 2018

The longest open-air gallery in the world

The online exhibition of the artists' initiative documents the condition of the paintings after their renovation in 2009.

GUIDED TOURS

Public guided tours available

The history of the East Side Gallery – overview tour

Saturdays
10:30 a.m. (English)
11:00 a.m. (German)

Please call to reserve a spot by the Friday before the respective date.
+49 (0)30 467 9866-23

See below for detailed information on all guided tours.

Group tours

To book a group tour, please use our

Prices

Public guided tours

Tours for schoolchildren are free
€3.50 / reduced rate €2.50 per person

Group tours

Tours for school groups with ten or more participants are free.
€3.50 / reduced rate €2.50 per person. Groups with less than 10 participants pay a flat fee of €35.

Contact

Berlin Wall Foundation – Visitor Services

Meeting point for tours

Mühlenstraße 73
10243 Berlin-Friedrichshain

The meeting point for tours is on the Spree side of the East Side Gallery, diagonally across from Tamara-Danz-Strasse.

Public transport

S- and U-Bahnhof Warschauer Straße

S3 S5 S7 S9 U1 U3
TramM10, M13
BUS 248, 347

Tamara-Danz-Straße

BUS 248

Schamil Gimajev, We are a people
Schamil Gimajev, We are a people

The history of the East Side Gallery

General tour

The East Side Gallery is the longest preserved segment of the Berlin Wall. The border situation here had special features that made it unusual even in the GDR. After the Wall fell, however, the former border elements here became famous worldwide: 118 artists from 21 countries painted the east side of the Berlin Wall, making it the largest open-air gallery in the world. This tour is about the artistic appropriation of the former barrier, the joy over the fall of the Wall and the history of the GDR border regime.

Duration: 1 hour

East Side Gallery
East Side Gallery

Art at the East Side Gallery

Overview tour

In spring 1990, more than 100 artists from 21 countries created the longest open-air gallery along 1.3 kilometers of the former border. The art project transformed what had once been an instrument of power into a symbol of joy over the end of the GDR. The tour uses select murals to tell the history of the historical site.

Duration: 1.5 hours

Greta Ida Csatlos, Sonic Malade
Greta Ida Csatlos, Sonic Malade

Become an art expert at the East Side Gallery!

A tour for children aged 8 to 12

During this discovery tour, children aged 8 to 12 learn about the history of the Berlin Wall and become experts on the art on the East Side Gallery. They seek answers to questions such as: Why was Berlin divided for 28 years? What happened to the Wall after the border opened? Why was the East Side Gallery created? The children work with the murals’ symbols and stories and are encouraged to develop their own understanding of the art.

Duration: 1 hour
Number of participants: max. 15

ABOUT

The Berlin Wall Foundation

The Berlin Wall Foundation was established as a foundation under public law by legislation passed on September 17, 2008. The foundation includes the Berlin Wall Memorial on Bernauer Strasse, the Marienfelde Refugee Center Museum and the Günter Litfin Memorial in the watchtower of the former GDR border troops command station at Kieler Eck.

The purpose of the foundation is to document and provide information about the history of the Berlin Wall and the mass migration from the German Democratic Republic as a part and contributory factor of the German division and the East–West conflict. It also aims to preserve historical sites and authentic remains and to provide for a dignified commemoration of the victims of Communist tyranny.

The Berlin parliament decided to hand over responsibility for the East Side Gallery to the Berlin Wall Foundation in May 2018. The Berlin Wall Foundation was given a mandate to maintain the East Side Gallery monument, to tend to its public green spaces and to provide information about the historical site.

Press contact

For press-related questions and film and photograph permits, please contact:

Hannah Berger
Head of Marketing, Press and Public Relations

© BERLIN WALL FOUNDATION 2018

MENÜ
EAST SIDE GALLERY
DE | EN

STIFTUNG BERLINER MAUER

EAST SIDE GALLERY

ÜBERBLICK

Das längste noch erhaltene Teilstück der Berliner Mauer zwischen Ostbahnhof und Oberbaumbrücke ist als East Side Gallery weltberühmt geworden. 118 KünstlerInnen aus 21 Ländern gestalteten nach dem Mauerfall auf 1,3 Kilometern des früheren Grenzelements die längste Open-Air-Gallery der Welt. Als Symbol der Freude über die Überwindung der deutschen Teilung und zugleich als historisches Zeugnis des unmenschlichen DDR-Grenzregimes ist die East Side Gallery heute einer der meist besuchten touristischen Orte Berlins.

Die East Side Gallery ist rund um die Uhr zugänglich. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Dmitri Vrubel, Mein Gott hilf mir, diese tödliche Liebe zu überleben
Dmitri Vrubel, Mein Gott hilf mir, diese tödliche Liebe zu überleben

East Side Gallery

Mühlenstraße 3 - 100
10243 Berlin

S- und U-Bahnhof Warschauer Straße

S3 S5 S7 S9 U1 U3
TramM10, M13
BUS 248, 347

East Side Gallery oder Tamara-Danz-Straße

BUS 248

Download

DER HISTORISCHE ORT

Die Grenzanlagen hatten an diesem Ort eine besondere Bedeutung. Mit dem Beginn des Mauerbaus am 13. August 1961 wurde die Spree zwischen Friedrichshain und Kreuzberg zum Grenzstreifen. Sie gehörte hier in ihrer ganzen Breite zu Ost-Berlin, während das Kreuzberger Ufer bereits West-Berliner Gebiet war. Die East Side Gallery befindet sich somit auf der einstigen Hinterlandmauer, die nach Ost-Berlin zeigte.

Neben der topographischen Besonderheit weist die Grenzanlage hier auch eine bauliche Seltenheit auf: als „Protokollstrecke“ für hochrangigen Besuch in der DDR war die Hinterlandmauer an der Mühlenstraße für jeden sichtbar. Daher wurde sie hier als die bekannte „Grenzmauer 75“ ausgeführt, die andernorts fast immer nach West-Berlin zeigte. Die 3,6 Meter hohen Mauerteile sollten den Blick auf den Todesstreifen versperren.

Die historischen Spuren an der Mühlenstraße dokumentieren zudem die Absicherung und den stetigen Ausbau der Berliner Mauer zu einer unüberwindbaren Barriere. Zur Schaffung eines freien „Sicht- und Schussfeldes“ für DDR-Grenzsoldaten wurde die Uferbebauung sukzessive in den 1970er Jahren abgetragen. 1977 erfolgte der komplette Abriss, nur der Mühlenspeicher des ehemals riesigen Hafengeländes blieb erhalten. Die Grenzanlagen der DDR haben diese intakte Stadtstruktur vollkommen zerstört. Als eines der letzten Zeugnisse der ersten Generation der Mauer ist ein Teil der Hinterlandmauer aus den charakteristischen Hohlblocksteinen von 1961 erhalten geblieben.

Die Mühlenstraße 1987
Mühlenstraße 1987. Gerhard Danigel, CC BY-SA 4.0
Patrouillenboot der Grenztruppen auf der Spree, 1980
Patrouillenboot der Grenztruppen auf der Spree, 1980
Mühlenspeicher und Patrouillenboot der Grenztruppen auf der Spree, 1980
Mühlenspeicher und Patrouillenboot der Grenztruppen auf der Spree, 1980
Grenzanlage an der Mühlenstraße, Blick nach Südosten, 1988
Grenzanlage an der Mühlenstraße, Blick nach Südosten, 1988

Die Berliner Mauer

Weitere Informationen über die Geschichte der Berliner Mauer und die Funktionsweise des Grenzregimes der DDR finden Sie auf der Website der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer.

Im Grenzbereich rund um die Mühlenstraße kamen mindestens 16 Menschen ums Leben. Sie versuchten, durch die Spree an das West-Berliner Ufer zu fliehen und wurden von den Schüssen der DDR-Grenzsoldaten tödlich getroffen oder ertranken wegen Unterkühlung und Erschöpfung. Ein 25-Jähriger und ein 27-Jähriger starben ohne Fluchtabsichten.

Auch an der Kreuzberger Uferseite ereigneten sich immer wieder dramatische Szenen, wenn Kinder beim Spielen ins Wasser fielen. Sie verloren das Gleichgewicht oder rutschten aus und konnten sich allein nicht aus dem Wasser retten. Die West-Berliner Rettungskräfte durften nicht in die Spree, um die Kinder zu retten, während die DDR-Grenzer nicht eingriffen. Bis 1975 ertranken fünf Kinder am Kreuzberger Gröbenufer (heute May-Ayim-Ufer). Um weitere Unfälle zu verhindern, ließ der Berliner Senat die Durchgänge zur Uferböschung verschweißen und vor der Kaimauer einen Zaun ziehen. Im Frühjahr 1976 wurden Wasserunfallmelder am West-Berliner Ufer errichtet.

Mahnmal mit Gedenkkreuz für Udo Düllick
Mahnmal mit Gedenkkreuz für Udo Düllick am West-Berliner Gröbenufer, heute May-Ayim-Ufer, 1980
Wasserunfallmelder am West-Berliner Spreeufer, 1980
Wasserunfallmelder am West-Berliner Spreeufer, 1980

Biografische Portraits

Die biografischen Porträts der Todesopfer an der Berliner Mauer finden Sie auf der Website der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer.

GALERIE

Nach der Friedlichen Revolution und dem Fall der Berliner Mauer am 9. November 1989 wurde der monströse Sperrwall abgerissen und sollte so schnell wie möglich aus dem Stadtbild entfernt werden. Daran wirkten auch die „Mauerspechte“ mit, sie bearbeiteten mit Hammer und Meißel die Betonwand und nahmen die herausgebrochenen Stücke als Triumph über die Überwindung der Teilung mit. Dennoch blieb an der Mühlenstraße ein Teilstück der Berliner Mauer in einer Länge von mehr als 1,3 Kilometer erhalten. Damals sorgten mehr als hundert Künstler aus der ganzen Welt dafür, dass die Mauer bis heute im Berliner Stadtbild erhalten geblieben ist.

Im Dezember 1989 präsentierten KünstlerInnen aus West-Berlin und aus der DDR ihre Idee, die "Mauer zur größten Galerie der Welt" zu machen. Mit offiziellem Auftrag des Ministerrates der DDR wurde das Projekt „East Side Gallery“ gegründet und am 28. September 1990 eröffnet. Die KünstlerInnen schufen mit ihren individuellen Botschaften und Kommentaren ein Dokument dafür, dass Freiheit und Kreativität letztlich stärker sind als Zwangsmaßnahmen und Gewalt. Mit mehr als hundert Gemälden drückten sie ihre Freude über den Mauerfall und die Überwindung der Teilung aus.

Die KünstlerInnen der East Side Gallery bewahrten mit ihren Werken die Mauer vor ihrem Abriss, vor weiterem Zerfall und vor Zerstörung. Im November 1991 wurde die East Side Gallery in die Denkmalliste des Landes Berlin eingetragen. Die East Side Gallery ist nicht nur das sichtbarste Resultat der Maueröffnung, infolge des inzwischen nahezu vollständigen Abrisses der Berliner Mauer zählt sie auch zu den wenigen Relikten der Grenzanlagen, die die 28-jährige Teilung der Stadt an ihrem ursprünglichen Standort wahrnehmbar macht.

Birgit Kinder, Test the Rest
Birgit Kinder, Test the Rest
Ignasi Blanch I Gisbert, Parlo D’Amor
Ignasi Blanch I Gisbert, Parlo D’Amor
Laszlo Erkel, You Can See Infinity
Laszlo Erkel, You Can See Infinity
Andy Weiss, Geist-Reise
Andy Weiss, Geist-Reise
André Sécrit, Du hast gelernt, was Freiheit heißt
André Sécrit, Du hast gelernt, was Freiheit heißt
Jürgen Grosse, Die Geburt des Kachinas, kopiert
Jürgen Grosse, Die Geburt des Kachinas, kopiert
Gerhard Lahr, Berlyn
Gerhard Lahr, Berlyn
Dieter Wien, Der Morgen
Dieter Wien, Der Morgen
Sándor Györffy, Feuerköpfe
Sándor Györffy, Feuerköpfe
Rainer Jehle, Denk-Mal, Mahn-Mal
Rainer Jehle, Denk-Mal, Mahn-Mal

Bereits seit 1996 engagiert sich die Mehrheit der KünstlerInnen in der von Kani Alavi initiierten Künstlerinitiative East Side Gallery e.V. für den Erhalt und die Pflege der Gemälde.

Der einst durchgängig geschlossene Grenzabschnitt ist wegen städtebaulicher Maßnahmen nicht mehr durchgehend erhalten. Aufgrund des witterungsbedingten Verfalls sowie unzähliger Beschmierungen und kleineren wie größeren Zerstörungen wurde die East Side Gallery in den Jahren 2000 und 2009 großflächig saniert. Die letzte Sanierung wurde von der Gesellschaft der behutsamen Stadterneuerung mbH (S.T.E.R.N.) durchgeführt, mehr als 2 Millionen Euro standen dafür zur Verfügung. Für die Sanierung war es notwendig, das Mauerwerk instand zu setzen. Dafür musste ein Großteil der Bilder abgestrahlt werden. Die KünstlerInnen wurden eingeladen, ihre Gemälde noch einmal auf die Berliner Mauer zu malen. Während die Mehrheit der KünstlerInnen ihr Gemälde wiederherstellte, kritisierte eine kleinere Gruppe die Sanierungsarbeiten und weigerte sich, ihre Gemälde neu aufzubringen. Heute existieren nur noch die im Jahr 2009 entstandenen Repliken.

In den Jahren nach dem Mauerfall nahmen die stadtplanerischen Konzepte den Spreeraum rund um die Oberbaumbrücke auf. Die Bauvorhaben direkt am Wasser standen dabei oft nicht im Einklang mit dem Erhalt der unter Denkmalschutz stehenden East Side Gallery. Für die Bebauungen wurden Maueröffnungen geschaffen, die vor allem im Jahr 2013 großen Protest und Demonstrationen auslösten. Zuletzt wurden im März 2018 Teile der bemalten Mauer herausgenommen und an einer anderen Stelle in unmittelbarer Nähe aufgestellt.

Bauarbeiten an der East Side Gallery, 2018
Bauarbeiten an der East Side Gallery, 2018

Die längste Open-Air-Galerie in der Welt

In der Online-Ausstellung der Künstlerinitiative e.V. sind die Bilder in ihrem Zustand nach der Sanierung im Jahr 2009 dokumentiert.

FÜHRUNGEN

Öffentliche Führungen

East Side Gallery - Überblicksführung

Samstag
10.30 Uhr (Englisch)
11.00 Uhr (Deutsch)

Kunst an der East Side Gallery - Überblicksführung

Die Termine für diese Führung entnehmen Sie bitte den unten stehenden Detailinformationen.

Telefonische Anmeldung erforderlich bis Freitag vor dem jeweiligen Termin.
+49 (0)30 467 9866-23

Gruppenführungen

Für die Buchung einer Gruppenführung zu einem der unten aufgeführten Themen verwenden Sie bitte das Anmeldeformular.

Kontakt

Stiftung Berliner Mauer - Besucherservice

Kosten

Öffentliche Führungen

Schüler/innen kostenfrei
Erwachsene: 3,50 € / ermäßigt 2,50 € pro Person

Gruppenführungen

SchülerInnen: für Gruppen ab 10 Personen kostenfrei
Erwachsene: 3,50 € / ermäßigt 2,50 € pro Person Für Gruppen mit weniger als 10 Personen wird ein Sockelbetrag in Höhe von 35 € erhoben.

Treffpunkt Führungen

Mühlenstraße 73
10243 Berlin-Friedrichshain

Der Treffpunkt ist auf der Spreeseite der East Side Gallery, schräg gegenüber der Tamara-Danz-Straße.

Anreise

S- und U-Bahnhof Warschauer Straße

S3 S5 S7 S9 U1 U3
TramM10, M13
BUS 248, 347

Tamara-Danz-Straße

BUS 248

Schamil Gimajev, Wir sind ein Volk
Schamil Gimajev, Wir sind ein Volk

Die Geschichte der East Side Gallery

Überblicksführung

Die East Side Gallery ist das längste noch erhaltene Teilstück der Berliner Mauer. Während hier bereits die DDR-Grenzsituation Besonderheiten aufwies, erlangte das einstige Grenzelement nach dem Mauerfall weltweit Berühmtheit: 118 KünstlerInnen aus 21 Ländern gestalteten die Ostseite der Berliner Mauer mit ihren Bildern zur weltweit größten Open-Air-Gallery. In der Führung geht es um die künstlerische Aneignung des früheren Sperrwalls, die Freude über den Mauerfall und die Geschichte des DDR-Grenzregimes.

Dauer: 1 Stunde

East Side Gallery
East Side Gallery

Kunst an der East Side Gallery

Überblicksführung

Im Frühjahr 1990 gestalteten mehr als 100 KünstlerInnen aus 21 Ländern die weltweit längste Open-Air-Gallery auf 1,3 Kilometern des früheren Grenzelements. Die Kunstaktion verwandelte das einstige Herrschaftsinstrument zu einem Symbol für die Freude über das Ende der DDR. Die Führung erzählt die Geschichte des historischen Ortes anhand von ausgewählten Kunstwerken.

Dauer: 1,5 Stunden

Greta Ida Csatlos, Sonic Malade
Greta Ida Csatlos, Sonic Malade

Werde KunstkennerIn an der East Side Gallery!

Eine Führung für Kinder im Alter von 8 bis 12 Jahren

In der Entdeckungstour setzen sich Kinder zwischen 8 und 12 Jahren mit der Geschichte der Berliner Mauer auseinander und werden zu KennerInnen der Kunst der East Side Gallery. Sie suchen nach Antworten auf die Fragen: Warum war Berlin 28 Jahre lang geteilt? Was ist kurz nach dem Mauerfall mit der Mauer passiert? Warum ist die East Side Gallery entstanden? Die Kinder beschäftigen sich mit den Symbolen und Geschichten der Bilder und werden dazu angeregt, einen eigenen Blick auf Kunst zu entwickeln.

Dauer: 1 Stunde
Teilnehmerzahl: max. 15

Christine Kühn, Touch the Wall
Christine Kühn, Touch the Wall

Die Geschichte der East Side Gallery

Überblicksführung in Leichter Sprache (buchbar ab Februar 2019)

Die Überblicksführung zur East Side Gallery in Leichter Sprache richtet sich an Menschen mit kognitiven Beeinträchtigungen, Lese- und Lernschwierigkeiten und Basis-Bildungsniveau. Die Führung hat zwei Teile. Im ersten Teil entdeckt die Gruppe den ehemaligen Grenzstreifen hinter der East Side Gallery. Mit dem Guide bespricht sie die Themen: Deutsche Teilung, Mauer, Mauertote und Wiedervereinigung. Im zweiten Teil werden drei Mauerbilder mit abwechslungsreichen Methoden und Materialien für die Gruppe erfahrbar gemacht.

Dauer: 1,5 Stunden

ÜBER UNS

Die Stiftung Berliner Mauer

Die Stiftung Berliner Mauer ist durch Gesetzesbeschluss vom 17. September 2008 als rechtsfähige Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts errichtet worden. Zur Stiftung gehören die Standorte Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer an der Bernauer Straße, die Erinnerungsstätte Notaufnahmelager Marienfelde sowie die Gedenkstätte Günter Litfin im Wachturm der ehemaligen Führungsstelle der DDR-Grenztruppen am Kieler Eck.

Zweck der Stiftung ist es, die Geschichte der Berliner Mauer und der Fluchtbewegungen aus der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik als Teil und Auswirkung der deutschen Teilung und des Ost-West-Konflikts im 20. Jahrhundert zu dokumentieren und zu vermitteln, sowie deren historische Orte und authentische Spuren zu bewahren und ein würdiges Gedenken der Opfer kommunistischer Gewaltherrschaft zu ermöglichen.

Im Mai 2018 hat das Abgeordnetenhaus von Berlin die Übertragung der East Side Gallery in die Verantwortung der Stiftung Berliner Mauer beschlossen. Die Stiftung Berliner Mauer erhielt damit das Mandat für den baulichen Unterhalt des Denkmals East Side Gallery, die Pflege der zugehörigen öffentlichen Grünanlage sowie für die Vermittlung des historischen Erinnerungsortes.

Aktuell

Pressemitteilung

Land Berlin hat East Side Gallery an Stiftung Berliner Mauer übertragen

Berlin, 01. November 2018 – Das Land Berlin hat die East Side Gallery, das längste noch erhaltene Teilstück der Berliner Mauer, zum heutigen 1. November 2018 in das Eigentum der Stiftung Berliner Mauer (SBM) übertragen.

Pressekontakt

Für Anfragen an die Presse und für Dreh- und Fotogenehmigungen wenden Sie sich bitte an

Gesine Beutin
Leiterin Marketing, Presse und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

© STIFTUNG BERLINER MAUER 2018